Dear guests,

We would like to inform you that from July 12th. -16.07.24 the Celler Schützenfest takes place. On July 12th and 16th, 2024 there will be a fireworks display at 10:45 p.m. In addition, the noises of the festival site will certainly be noticeable during this time.

We sincerely ask for your understanding.

Kind regards from the team at Hotel Caroline Mathilde

The Hotel Caroline Mathilde in Celle

The ideal place to feel good for vacation, culture and leisure

Our hotel, built in villa style, has been privately owned since it opened and has 110 beds in 53 rooms. The Hotel Caroline Mathilde is located in a beautiful, park-like garden and consists of two buildings. The “Haus am Weinhang” and the “Haus am Brunnen” are connected to each other by a walkway. Some of our rooms have a small balcony with a view of the beautiful garden or Celle’s only vineyard.

Located on a quiet side street – on the “Alten Bremer Weg” – you will find the Hotel Caroline Mathilde not far from Celle’s historic old town, where you can marvel at over 500 lovingly restored half-timbered houses, which are of course listed. A picturesque picture and an unforgettable impression.

Explore famous points of interest, such as Celle Castle – with its unique baroque theatre, which has its own theatre company – or the Bomann Museum and, right next door, the 24-hour art gallery.

Make your loved ones happy

Whether for a birthday, wedding or anniversary, give someone a voucher for Hotel Caroline Mathilde.
Upon request, we can issue you personalized value and offer vouchers.

The history of the Hotel Caroline Mathilde

Caroline Mathilde, Queen of Denmark

born on July 22, 1751 at ‘Landschloß Kew’
died on May 11, 1775 in Celle Castle

The sobbing 15-year-old child who boarded a ship in Harwich to become queen of Denmark had no idea what a sad fate she was heading towards. No one had told her that Christian VII suffered from a mental illness that manifested itself in bouts of irascibility, brutality, excessive debauchery, or severe depression. The Danes celebrated their beautiful queen, the “Rose of England”. No one could resist her grace, only the husband announced that he would lead a marriage “à la mode”, that is, he would hardly take any notice of his wife. When she became pregnant, he made tasteless jokes about her girth.

From a month-long journey the king brought the famous German Dr. Friedrich Struensee as personal physician. He also treated Caroline Mathilde, who had suffered a serious, life-threatening collapse. Struensee, an educated, progressive young man, familiar with the ideas of Voltaire and Rousseau, made an impact particularly through the force of his personality. Caroline Mathilde not only recovered quickly – she also became more self-confident and was able to strengthen her position vis-à-vis the king. Struensee was knighted and appointed State Councilor. Whether he was the father of his daughter Luise Augusta, born in 1771, is controversial. He began far-reaching reforms in many areas (e.g. he introduced freedom of the press and equality for illegitimate children and abolished serfdom and torture) – too much at once, too quickly and too radically. Nobility and clergy, whose privileges were curtailed, envious people and schemers looked for ways to overthrow him. In January 1772 the conspirators struck. They took King Christian into their power; Caroline Mathilde and Struensee went to prison. Struensee was horribly executed for treason, Caroline Mathilde was divorced and was to be banished to Aalborg Fortress for life.

Finally George III took action. from England. By threatening that his fleet would bombard Copenhagen, he secured his sister’s release. However, he did not let her return to England, but instead gave her the castle in Celle as her place of residence. The children, heir to the throne Frederik and Luise Augusta, remained in Denmark. Caroline Mathilde died completely unexpectedly shortly before her 24th birthday.

! Font Awesome Pro 6.4.0 by @fontawesome – https://fontawesome.com License – https://fontawesome.com/license (Commercial License) Copyright 2023 Fonticons, Inc.
ContactWe look forward to your message or inquiry!
! Font Awesome Pro 6.4.0 by @fontawesome – https://fontawesome.com License – https://fontawesome.com/license (Commercial License) Copyright 2023 Fonticons, Inc.
ArrivalThis is how you find the way to the Hotel Caroline Mathilde

Our ideas for your vacation in the ducal city of Celle

A relaxed trip by bicycle or e-bike

Explore the city of Celle and the idyllic Allerradweg with its flora and fauna habitats from the bike saddle - we offer you the all-round carefree package!

Book now

from 270,00 €
per person

Wellbeing-comfort relax days

Would you like to forget the hustle and bustle of everyday life and unwind? Treat yourself to a short vacation in Celle and let our team pamper you!

Book now

from 242,00 €
per person

In the mood for Caroline’s weekend

The classic among our holiday ideas: Experience the residential town of Celle and explore the beautiful half-timbered town on your own!

Book now

from 260,50 €
per person

Golf and half-timbered houses

Two very well-maintained golf courses are waiting to be played. Play 18 holes twice on the most beautiful courses in the Celle area!

Book Now

from 325,00 €
per person

more vacation ideas

Liebe Gäste,

gerne möchten wir Sie informieren, dass vom 12.07. -16.07.24 das Celler Schützenfest stattfindet. Am 12. + 16.07.24 findet am Abend um 22.45 Uhr ein Höhenfeuerwerk statt. Zudem werden in dieser Zeit die Geräusche des Festplatzes sicher wahrnehmbar sein.

Wir bitten vielmals um Ihr Verständnis.

Lieben Gruß vom Team des Hotel Caroline Mathilde

Das Hotel Caroline Mathilde in Celle

Der ideale Ort zum Wohlfühlen für Urlaub, Kultur und Freizeit

Unser im Villenstil erbautes Hotel ist ein seit der Eröffnung im Privatbesitz geführtes vier Sterne Hotel mit 110 Betten in 53 Zimmern. Das Hotel Caroline Mathilde liegt in einem wunderschönen, parkähnlichen Garten und besteht aus zwei Gebäuden. Das „Haus am Weinhang“ und das „Haus am Brunnen“, sind durch einen Wandelgang miteinander verbunden. Ein Teil unserer Zimmer verfügt über einen kleinen Balkon mit Blick in den herrlichen Garten oder auf Celles einzigen Weinberg.

An einer ruhigen Seitenstraße gelegen – am „Alten Bremer Weg“ – finden Sie das Hotel Caroline Mathilde unweit der historischen Celler Altstadt, in der über 500 liebevoll restaurierte, selbstverständlich unter Denkmalschutz stehende Fachwerkhäuser zu bestaunen sind. Ein malerisches Bild und ein unvergesslicher Eindruck.

Erkunden Sie bekannte Sehenswürdigkeiten wie das Celler Schloss mit seinem einzigartigen Barocktheater, welches über ein eigenes Ensemble verfügt oder das Bomann Museum und, gleich nebenan, das 24-Stunden-Kunstmuseum.

Machen Sie Ihren Liebsten eine Freude

Ob Geburtstag, Hochzeit oder Jubiläum –  verschenken Sie einen Gutschein für einen Aufenhalt im Hotel Caroline Mathilde!
Auf Wunsch stellen wir Ihnen personalisierte Wert- und Angebotsgutscheine aus.

Die Geschichte des Hotel Caroline Mathilde

Caroline Mathilde, Königin von Dänemark

geboren am 22. Juli 1751 auf dem Landschloß Kew
gestorben am 11. Mai 1775 im Schloß Celle

Das schluchzende knapp 15jährige Kind, das in Harwich ein Schiff bestieg, um in Dänemark Königin zu werden, ahnte nicht, welch traurigem Schicksal es entgegenfuhr. Niemand hatte ihr gesagt, dass Christian VII. unter einer Geisteskrankheit litt, die sich in Schüben von Jähzorn, Brutalität, exzessiven Ausschweifungen oder schweren Depressionen manifestierte. Die Däninnen bejubelten ihre schöne Königin, die „Rose von England“. Niemand konnte ihrer Anmut widerstehen, nur der Ehemann verkündete, er werde eine Ehe „à la mode“ führen, d.h. von seiner Frau kaum Notiz nehmen. Als sie schwanger wurde, machte er geschmacklose Witze über ihren Leibesumfang.

Von einer monatelangen Reise brachte der König den berühmten deutschen Dr. Friedrich Struensee als Leibarzt mit. Er behandelte auch Caroline Mathilde, die einen schweren lebensbedrohenden Zusammenbruch erlitten hatte. Struensee, ein gebildeter, fortschrittlicher junger Mann, vertraut mit den Ideen Voltaires und Rousseaus, wirkte besonders durch die Kraft seiner Persönlichkeit. Caroline Mathilde genas nicht nur schnell – sie wurde auch selbstbewusster und konnte ihre Position dem König gegenüber stärken. Struensee wurde geadelt und zum Staatsrat ernannt. Ob er der Vater der 1771 geborenen Tochter Luise Augusta war, ist umstritten. Er begann weitreichende Reformen auf vielen Gebieten (z.B. führte er Pressefreiheit und Gleichstellung unehelicher Kinder ein und ließ Leibeigenschaft und Folter abschaffen) – zuviel auf einmal, zu schnell und zu radikal. Adel und Klerus, deren Privilegien beschnitten wurden, Neider und Intriganten suchten nach Wegen, ihn zu stürzen. Im Januar 1772 schlugen die Verschwörer zu. Sie brachten König Christian in ihre Gewalt; Caroline Mathilde und Struensee kamen ins Gefängnis. Struensee wurde wegen Hochverrats auf grauenvolle Weise hingerichtet, Caroline Mathilde wurde geschieden und sollte lebenslang auf die Festung Aalborg verbannt werden.

Endlich griff Georg III. von England ein. Mit der Drohung, seine Flotte werde Kopenhagen beschießen, bewirkte er die Freilassung seiner Schwester. Er ließ sie aber nicht nach England zurückkehren, sondern wies ihr das Schloß in Celle als Wohnsitz an. Die Kinder, Thronfolger Frederik und Luise Augusta, blieben in Dänemark. Caroline Mathilde starb völlig unerwartet kurz vor ihrem 24. Geburtstag.

! Font Awesome Pro 6.4.0 by @fontawesome – https://fontawesome.com License – https://fontawesome.com/license (Commercial License) Copyright 2023 Fonticons, Inc.
KontaktWir freuen uns auf Ihre Nachricht oder Anfrage!
! Font Awesome Pro 6.4.0 by @fontawesome – https://fontawesome.com License – https://fontawesome.com/license (Commercial License) Copyright 2023 Fonticons, Inc.
AnreiseSo finden Sie den Weg zum Hotel Caroline Mathilde
! Font Awesome Pro 6.4.0 by @fontawesome – https://fontawesome.com License – https://fontawesome.com/license (Commercial License) Copyright 2023 Fonticons, Inc.
KarriereUnser Team sucht Verstärkung: Jetzt bewerben!

Unsere Ideen für Ihren Urlaub in der Herzogstadt Celle

Mit dem Fahrrad oder E-Bike entspannt unterwegs

Vom Fahrradsattel aus die Stadt Celle und den idyllischen Allerradweg mit seinen Flora und Fauna Habitaten erkunden - wir bieten Ihnen das rundum sorglos Paket!

jetzt Buchen

ab 270,00 €
pro Person

Celler Wohlfühl- & Kuscheltage

Sie möchten die Hektik des Alltags vergessen und die Seele baumeln lassen? Gönnen Sie sich einen Kurzurlaub in Celle und lassen Sie sich von unserem Team verwöhnen! 

jetzt Buchen

ab 242,00 €
pro Person

Lust auf Caroline's Wochenende?

Der Klassiker unter unseren Urlaubs-Ideen: Erleben Sie die Residenzstadt Celle und erkunden Sie die wunderschöne Fachwerkstadt auf eigene Faust!

jetzt Buchen

ab 260,50 €
pro Person

Golf und Fachwerk

Zwei sehr gepflegte Golfplätze warten darauf von ihnen bespielt zu werden. Spielen Sie zweimal 18 Löcher auf den schönsten Plätzen der Celler Umgebung!

jetzt Buchen

ab 325,00 €
pro Person

Weitere Urlaubsangebote